Pyrra is built in 1,056m above the sea level, 7 km away from Neraidochori. It is surrounded by the tops Avgo, Tsouma and Chameno and the landscape has plenty of mountains, streams and springs.
The villagers are mainly farmers, who are forced by the circumstances to leave the village in winter and to meet it again in the spring.
A worth mentioning monument is the Holy Monastery of Prophet Elias and Saint Modestos (1889) and Saint Nikolaos church (17-18th century).
A unique phenomenon of the area is the caves: at Kazania place with magnificent stalactites and stalagmites and an underground waterfall and Sarmanitsa cave. Such a beautiful place with endless forests of beeches and coniferous trees gathers great populations of wild fauna.
On Saint Paraskevi's fair on the 27/7, a variation of the classic custom takes place in which the celebration and the fair start on the 26th, whereas on the 27th the dances are engrossed by women with the men having a more discreet presence. On the 28th the fair keeps on mainly with the care of men and various folklore happenings take place.
According to tradition, Pyrra was named after king Pyrros, who became the area's king and built the surrounded by fortress city of Pyrra, at "Foniska" place. This tradition was confirmed when, during the opening of the Pyrra-Desi road, a javelin of the Pre-Christian times was found. Tradition also mentions that in the same location (Foniska) there is the golden helmet of king Pyrros.